Just how innovative and diverse Out of Home can be once again became clear during the annual Out of Home Award jury meeting, which for the first time took place in Gewista's City Light Hall. A distinguished professional jury comprised of representatives from the largest Austrian ad agencies evaluated around 2250 entries in the categories Poster, City Light, Rolling Board, Transport Media, Megaboard, Innovative & Ambient Media and Culture. A new part of this year's selection process was that a proportion of the evaluations could be made in advance via online voting. Ultimately, the jury's view was unanimous: creativity is the main indicator for a successful campaign.

“The “Out of Home Award 2013” is taking place for the 14th time this year. We're very happy about the continuing popularity of this advertising prize, which searches out the most creative players in the Austrian advertising landscape,” said Gewista CEO Karl Javurek. “The many entries, and especially the high quality of the work submitted, show that outdoor media is highly valued by ad agencies and in the advertising industry as a whole, and serves as evidence of the unique creative possibilities which Out of Home media offer. This year, too, the number of entries once again increased across all categories.”

“I'm particularly happy about the introduction of the new category next year: Digital Media,” Javurek continues. The digitisation of our Out of Home media – the seven most important underground stations in Vienna are going digital, starting with Stephansplatz underground station, followed by further projects aboveground – marks the start of a new chapter in the world of outdoor media. Our range of digital advertising solutions offers creatives a unique new playground which allows them to give shape to ideas and concepts for their customers in an even more impressive way.”

The judges:

Peter Hörlezeder (Jung von Matt/Donau), Rudi Kobza (LOWE GGK), Reinhard Bösenkopf (Cayenne), Helmut Kosa (pjure isobar), Mag. Jürgen Colombini (Unique), Mag. Heimo Hammer (kraftwerk), Irene Sagmeister (TBWA\WIEN), Omid Novidi (MediaCom), Mag. Gabriele Zelloth (Megaboard), KR Karl Javurek (Gewista).

Am Bild v.li.n.re.: Helmut Kosa (Pjure isobar), Fred Kendlbacher (Progress Werbung Salzburg / kein Jurymitglied), Rudi Kobza (LOWE GGK), Omid Novidi (MediaCom), Andrea Groh (Gewista / kein Jurymitglied), Peter Hörlezeder (Jung von Matt/Donau), Irene Sagmeister (TBWA/WIEN), Reinhard Bösenkopf (Cayenne), GenDir Karl Javurek (Gewista), Mag. Jürgen Columbini (Unique), Mag. Gabriele Zelloth (Megaboard), Mag. Heimo Hammer (kraftwerk / nicht am Bild).